Happy Chinese New Year 2017! The Year of the Rooster that will last until February 15, 2018.


The New Year event, also known as the Spring Festival, is marked by the lunisolar Chinese calendar, so the date can change from year to year.

Festivities usually start the day before the New Year and continue until the Lantern Festival, the fifteenth day of the new year.


We have gone today ¡ to the parade that is celebrated every year in San Francisco. I have loved to immerse myself in another culture for a couple of hours and see that not only were Chinese people celebrating this festival, but also that I live in a city with an amazing mix of cultures and everyone celebrates.



The San Francisco Chinese New Year parade, is one of the ten best parades in the world according to the Association of International Festivals and Events. Not only that but also is one of the few illuminated parades at night in the country. Started in the 1860s by the Chinese in San Francisco as a way to educate the community about their culture, the Parade and Festival have become the largest celebration of Asian culture outside of Asia.

Back to the Chinese calendar, let me tell you what I’ve learned:

Each Chinese New Year is characterized by one of the 12 animals appearing in the Chinese zodiac, which is divided into 12 blocks (or houses) as well as its western counterpart, but with the main difference that each house lasts for a year in Instead of a month. This year, it is the Year of the Rooster, the 10th animal of the cycle. The next year of the rooster will be in 2029. The 12 animals are: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Serpent, Horse, Sheep, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

Let mechare with you more photos of the parade today!



Related Posts

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.